DIY Quote Artwork

I recently went to a lovely craft festival and spotted some artwork that I thought was a must have.  Quote art is very popular right now from stenciling & painting on walls to putting quotes into frames.  I quickly saw that the artwork was way over my budget as most of the artisan’s work was from $70 and up. However, after letting my brain rummage around for a cheap  thrifty alternative, I came up with a piece of artwork that cost under $10.  Of course I forgot to take pictures throughout the process, but it’s pretty easy if you want to try and duplicate it.

bathroom pic

I’m sorry for the terrible picture (glare and all), but I didn’t want to dismantle the entire project.

Here’s what you’ll need for the project:

picture frame ( mine was $4 from the thrift store)

(2) background & (2) quote art papers ( I found both at JoAnn’s in the scrapbooking section)

(1) 8″X11″ children’s art foam sheets (they come in a variety of colors at any craft store)

a few artificial leaves (they’ll be used to cover where the foam joins together)

Begin by placing your colored background onto the backing of your frame.  Because my frame was wide and square I needed  2 sheets of background paper which I centered so that later my black foam strips would cover up the joint. I then cut my foam pieces into (4) 1-1/2″ wide strips & long enough to fit to the edge of the backboard.

The quote I used was as follows:

RISK more than others think is safe

DREAM more than others think is practical

CARE more than others think is wise

EXPECT more than others think is possible

I then printed my quote on decorative paper with the font I wanted. I bought two sheets of paper to allow for mistakes & I didn’t want to run back to the craft store for 1 piece of paper. Each quote was approximately 1/4 of the sheet of decorative paper. I cut the quotes to the size that I thought would look best for the frame. I then used a candle and burned the edges of the quotes to give it a more rustic look. I do love my rustic style!  I  placed my black strips and quotes where I thought they should go and once I liked my final setup, I slightly glued the quotes in place. I then layed down my 4 pieces of black foam. Where they butted up in the middle, I added artificial leaves to cover up the seams. I added a few extra at the bottom just because I liked the look.

The possibilities are endless and can be used with a variety of frames you may find in the thrift stores.  This project would have been even easier if I had found one of those gallery style frames where it is already partitioned.  I hope this inspires you to add your own creative touch for wherever you call home.

creativity einstein

Leave a comment